Mushrooms, Cauli au Gratin

SPOILER ALERT! This is NOT my recipe but I cooked it tonight because it looked and sounded so good. For the video of Rachel Khoo making this dish go here. The entire recipe as well. Two things. If you’re not in Oz you might not be able to access this show and also I’m not sure ho long the channel keep these things live. So I’m giving her instructions here just in case.

Comments though. I didn’t use shiitake mushrooms, just organic button mushies and in a much smaller quantity as tonight there is just me to feed. Oven 220 degrees

When I roasted the mushrooms they got a tad sloppy so I upped the heat to 240 for another 5 minutes and that worked.

dinner - rachel khoo mushrooms and cauli gratin ingredients

Can you just see the little lemon? That’s from my ornamental lemon tree potted in the back yard. Of course I used more mushrooms than in the picture, they’re currently soaking in the brine mix.

EQUIPMENT

skillet, your sharp knife, steamer, deep tray for mushrooms in brine, deep ceramic, if following Rachel’s ingredient quantities or small, like mine, if you prefer. I used my heavy wooden chopping block to retain the mushies in the brine and my another to chop things.

dinner - rachel khoo mushrooms and cauli gratin small dishNote size of the dish. I’ve put my phone charger beside it for perspective 🙂

All the ingredients except the cheese are organic.

INGREDIENTS

a dozen organic button mushrooms
large brown onion
red chilli
organic English spinach seriously well-washed
small really fresh cauliflower
a drizzle of dry white wine
wedge lemon
half a handful each of parsley, mint, dill
a desert spoon crème fraiche
olive oil
fresh ground black pepper
salt for the brine (the one I have is from New Zealand and is organic mineral-rich)
handful grated cheddar

METHOD

Pre-heat the oven to 220
Then…
Mushrooms go into a deep tray with brine for 10 minutes only. Put to the side with a heavy chopping board to keep them submerged.
Wash the spinach (I didn’t use the frozen kind as my local shop has fresh organic. Best way to get all the grit off is to fill the sink with cold water, remove the roots and stem while in it. Then steam for 3 minutes.
Peel the onion and cut in half. One half cut into quarters and peel the petals off, place to the side, the other half chop finely.
Chop the chilli. Rachel suggests removing the seeds. I left them in because I love a hit as you probably guessed.
Drain the mushies, put into the roasting tray and drizzle with olive oil, massage by hand then put into the oven.
About a table spoon of butter in the pan. When melted add the chopped onion. Saute till soft.
The spinach is just limp. Easiest way to remove moisture is to add it to a clean tea towel and squeeze over the sink.
The onion is done so pour in a glug of white wine, then add the spinach and most of the chilli.
Pull out the baking tray and add the onion petals. Mix about a bit before returning to the oven.
Add the crème fraiche to the pan of onion n spinach and take it off the heat.
Light the gas under a large pot with just enough water to submerge cauli steaks.
Finely chop the parsley and leave to one side.
Finely chop the mint and dill together, put to the side.
Cut the cauliflower into steaks and pop them in the simmering pot of water. They need to cook for about 3 minutes, until the stem is just firm but not hard.
Grate the cheese.
Mushrooms are ready.
Time to layer.
In the deep dish layer the mushrooms, then the spinach mix, a squeeze of lemon, then the dill and mint, then the cauliflower steaks, then the cheese.
Put under the griller until cheese is golden. If you’re my US witches cooking up this brew know that our grill and yours are NOT THE SAME (yelling as my imagination takes affect) so keep the oven up high and put the entire thing back in the oven and continue cooking on the highest shelf till the cheese melts golden.

Serve.

Bon apetit! x

Leave a Reply

